What flight training at Sasquatch Aviation costs
Aurora, OR · Checked October 8, 2026
Website sasquatch.aero
Phone 503-776-5062
Cost estimate
Estimate cost to reach
Flying
The school calls this its cost-effective primary training and time-building aircraft.
PilotBound estimate · Private
Examiner dataCost of your Private at Sasquatch Aviation
range $16.9K – $22.4K · about 6 months at 2×/week
Priced on Sasquatch's published rates: Piper Cherokee PA-28 at $175/hr + $80/hr instruction, checked October 8, 2026.
Against a minimums quote
+$7,680 on Sasquatch's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.
Where it goes
One-time fees ($2,375)
- Knowledge (written) test$175
- Checkride / DPE fee$800
- Medical certificate$150
- Headset$700
- Ground school / test prep$300
- Books, charts & supplies$250
Examiner records (DPE dataset).
The hourly flying is priced on Sasquatch Aviation's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Sasquatch Aviation's prices, and several are set by third parties.
Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →
Put this calculator on your siteThe rate card
What Sasquatch publishes
Checked October 8, 2026This estimate uses Sasquatch Aviation's published wet rates, which the school states include fuel with no surcharge. The school now calls a Diamond DA40 its flagship trainer and lists a Cessna 177RG as coming soon, and neither carries a price, so neither is in this estimate. A Redbird FMX is $78/hr with the same $80/hr instruction, and a $149 Flight Lab session runs two to three hours; neither is modeled.
The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Sasquatch does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.
Paying for it
Two ways to cover $19,615.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for45 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Oregon-only awards in the directory yet.
- 45
- Money you pay backLenders that cover $19,615All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 6 of 6
Add to my plan
Turn this into a plan.
Your $19,615 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.
In the app
What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked one is what Sasquatch's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?
The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.
Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?
Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.
Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site
It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Questions
How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Sasquatch Aviation?
Sasquatch Aviation publishes $175 per hour for the Piper Cherokee PA-28 and $80 per hour for instruction on it, checked October 8, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $19,615, in a range of $16,900 to $22,400. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Sasquatch Aviation.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Sasquatch Aviation?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Sasquatch Aviation to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Sasquatch Aviation a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Sasquatch Aviation does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
Do Sasquatch Aviation's aircraft rates include fuel?
Sasquatch Aviation publishes $175 per hour for the Piper Cherokee PA-28, a wet rate, so fuel is included in the hourly figure. A wet rate is the easier one to compare, because the number you see is the number you fly on. Rates checked October 8, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Sasquatch Aviation?
Sasquatch Aviation trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Commercial Pilot, Flight Instructor and Instrument Instructor. Instruction is $80 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Sasquatch Aviation's own published rates.
Sources
Estimates use Sasquatch Aviation's published Piper Cherokee PA-28 and instructor rates (checked October 8, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Sasquatch Aviation. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Are you Sasquatch? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.
3 other schools fly from Aurora State Airport.
1 of them publishes at least one rate. UAO is the identifier to give when you ask.
- Willamette AviationFull rate card, Cessna 150 at $129/hr and $80/hr instructionAurora
- Aurora Flight TrainingPublishes no ratesAurora
- Pacific FlightPublishes no ratesAurora
Other Oregon flight schools.
Plan the money before you commit.
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what scholarships exist, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Scholarships first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.


