Rates partly published · Watertown, SD

Flight training at ATY Aviation

No instructor rate. ATY Aviation publishes rates for all 7 of its airplanes and nothing for instruction, so there is no total on this page.

Checked September 20, 2026 against ATY Aviation airplanes and simulator page.

Based at
Watertown Regional Airport(ATY)
FAA part
Not stated on their site
Trains
PPL · IR · CPL · Multi · CFI · CFII · MEI
Website
atyaviation.com

Section 1What is published

ATY Aviation's own figures

Checked September 20, 2026 · Source

ATY Aviation published aircraft rates
AircraftPublished rateNotes
Cessna 172N Skyhawk (N6391J)1980$150/hr160 HP. The school states the rate includes fuel.
Cessna 172N Skyhawk (N5433E)1978$150/hr160 HP.
Piper PA-28 Cherokee 140/160 (N644FL)1971$150/hr160 HP.
Piper PA-28R-201 Arrow III (N333PG)1977$200/hrComplex, and offered for instruction only rather than solo rental.
Piper PA-44-180 Seminole (N38FJ)1989$360/hrMulti-engine and complex, instruction only.
Cessna 152 Tailwheel (N24947)$125/hrTailwheel, side by side seating, instruction only.
Redbird MCX simulator$80/hrFull motion AATD, dual only. Approved toward some private, instrument and commercial requirements.

Airframes built 1971 to 1989. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read September 20, 2026.

ATY prices every airplane wet. The Arrow, the Seminole and the tailwheel 152 are offered for instruction only rather than solo rental. The one instruction figure it publishes sits on the simulator, which is $80 an hour with an instructor at $70, and nothing on the site says whether that instructor rate applies in the airplanes.

Section 2Why there is no total

An estimate needs an instructor rate.

A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With instruction unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.

  • Instructor rateMissing from their site

    Instruction is the second biggest line on a training bill, after the airplane.

What to compare their answer against

Not ATY Aviation's rates. South Dakota has too few published rate cards for a state median, so this is all 535 schools we track, to hold your phone quote against.

Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $52 to $430 per hour.
$165
Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 535 schools with published rates.
$66

From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. ATY Aviation is not in it.

Section 3Paying for it

Two ways to pay for it.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No South Dakota-only awards in the directory yet.
46
Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6

Section 4What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked ones are what ATY Aviation's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. What do you charge per hour for flight instruction, and is ground instruction billed at the same rate?Missing from their site

    This is the number that is missing from the site. Ground is often billed separately and at a different rate.

  2. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?Missing from their site

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  3. Is instruction $70 an hour in the airplanes too, or is that rate only for the simulator?Missing from their site

    The only instruction price on the site is printed on the simulator, and instruction is the half of the bill the fleet rates do not cover.

  4. The Arrow, the Seminole and the tailwheel 152 are instruction only. What is the checkout for the 172s and the Cherokee?

    Three of the six airplanes cannot be flown solo, so what you can rent on your own after training here is narrower than the fleet looks.

  5. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  6. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  7. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Called them? Send us what they said.

Send the number over and ATY Aviation gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.

Send what they told you

Section 5Nearby schools

One South Dakota school publishes a full rate card.

Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.

  • Legacy AviationTea, SD · Checked September 16, 2026
    $192.77/hr$67.73 to $78.15/hr instruction

Section 6Sources

That the school exists
ATY Aviation airplanes and simulator pageChecked September 20, 2026
The rates above
ATY Aviation airplanes and simulator pageChecked September 20, 2026

Are you ATY Aviation? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.

This page says one thing is not stated on your site. Send us where it is published and it shows here instead.

  • What instruction costs per hourSend it

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by ATY Aviation. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Other South Dakota flight schools

All South Dakota flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.