PilotBound estimate · Conroe, TX · Checked September 8, 2026

What flight training at Five x Five Flight costs

Website fivexfiveflight.com

Phone 8322576600

Section 1Cost estimate

Your plan

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

The primary trainer.

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at Five x Five Flight

$18,095

range $15.6K$20.6K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on Five x Five's published rates: Cessna 172 at $170/hr + $60/hr instruction, checked September 8, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$11,095
at the hours students actually take$18,095

+$7,000 on Five x Five's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$15.6K$20.6K
Aircraft rental$12,240
Instruction$3,480
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$15,720
72 hrs in Cessna 172 @ $170/hr + 58 dual @ $60/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on Five x Five Flight's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Five x Five Flight's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

Put this calculator on your site

Section 2The rate card

What Five x Five publishes

checked September 8, 2026
Cessna 172 (N2645L)The primary trainer.$170/hr fuel basis not stated
Piper PA28-161 Warrior II (N2973U)1979$170/hr fuel basis not stated
Piper PA28-181 Archer II (N47971)1977$170/hr fuel basis not stated
Beechcraft BE-76 Duchess (twin, N24GM)1981Twin, for the multi-engine ratings.$455/hr fuel basis not stated
Instruction$60/hr

Airframes built 1977 to 1981. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read September 16, 2026.

Five x Five Flight does not say whether its published rates include fuel. This estimate uses the rate exactly as published, so ask before you budget: a dry rate adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour once fuel is on top.

The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Five x Five's site does not state whether its rates include fuel.

Section 3Paying for it

Two ways to cover $18,095.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Texas-only awards in the directory yet.
46
Money you pay backLenders that cover $18,095All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6 of 6

Section 4Add to my plan

Turn this into a plan.

Your $18,095 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

Section 5What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked one is what Five x Five's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?Missing from their site

    The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.

  2. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  3. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  4. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  5. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Section 6Questions

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Five x Five Flight?
Five x Five Flight publishes $170 per hour for the Cessna 172 and $60 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 8, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $18,095, in a range of $15,600 to $20,600. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Five x Five Flight.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Five x Five Flight?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Five x Five Flight to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Five x Five Flight a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Five x Five Flight trains under Part 61, the flexible path. There is no FAA-approved syllabus to follow, so lessons can be scheduled around your life and adapted to your pace. The tradeoff is a slightly higher paper minimum for the private certificate (40 hours versus 35) and, for most students, no VA benefit eligibility.
Do Five x Five Flight's aircraft rates include fuel?
Five x Five Flight publishes $170 per hour for the Cessna 172, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included. Ask before you budget: if the rate turns out to be dry, fuel adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour on top. PilotBound's estimate uses the rate exactly as published. Rates checked September 8, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Five x Five Flight?
Five x Five Flight trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Commercial Pilot and Multi-Engine (AMEL). Instruction is $60 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Five x Five Flight's own published rates.

Section 7Sources

Estimates use Five x Five Flight's published Cessna 172 and instructor rates (checked September 8, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Five x Five Flight. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Are you Five x Five? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.

Send your fuel basis

2 other schools fly from Conroe-North Houston Regional Airport.

1 of them publishes at least one rate. CXO is the identifier to give when you ask.

Other Texas flight schools

All Texas flight schoolsAll Conroe flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.