PilotBound estimate · Waco, TX · Checked September 8, 2026

What flight training at Waco Flight Training costs

Website wacoflight.com

Section 1Cost estimate

Your plan

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

The primary trainer. Aspen PFD, GTN 650.

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at Waco Flight Training

$20,695

range $17.8K$23.6K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on Waco Flight's published rates: Piper Cherokee 180 at $190/hr + $80/hr instruction, checked September 8, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$12,535
at the hours students actually take$20,695

+$8,160 on Waco Flight's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$17.8K$23.6K
Aircraft rental$13,680
Instruction$4,640
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$18,320
72 hrs in Piper Cherokee 180 @ $190/hr + 58 dual @ $80/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on Waco Flight Training's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Waco Flight Training's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

Put this calculator on your site

Section 2The rate card

What Waco Flight publishes

checked September 8, 2026
Piper Cherokee 180 (N8222W)1965The primary trainer. Aspen PFD, GTN 650.$190/hr wet
Cessna T182T (N21744)2004Turbo, high-performance / TAA glass, for the commercial's advanced hours.$250/hr wet
Instruction$80/hr

Airframes built 1965 to 2004. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read September 16, 2026.

Rates are wet. Figures are the retail rate; cash and block-account prices run a few dollars lower (the Cherokee 180 drops to about $180 to $185).

The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Waco Flight does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.

Section 3Discovery flight

Section 4Paying for it

Two ways to cover $20,695.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Texas-only awards in the directory yet.
46
Money you pay backLenders that cover $20,695Five of the six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
5 of 6

Section 5Add to my plan

Turn this into a plan.

Your $20,695 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

Section 6What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked one is what Waco Flight's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  2. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  3. Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site

    It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.

  4. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  5. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  6. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Section 7Questions

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Waco Flight Training?
Waco Flight Training publishes $190 per hour for the Piper Cherokee 180 and $80 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 8, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $20,695, in a range of $17,800 to $23,600. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Waco Flight Training.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Waco Flight Training?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Waco Flight Training to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Waco Flight Training a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Waco Flight Training does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
Do Waco Flight Training's aircraft rates include fuel?
Waco Flight Training publishes $190 per hour for the Piper Cherokee 180, a wet rate, so fuel is included in the hourly figure. A wet rate is the easier one to compare, because the number you see is the number you fly on. Rates checked September 8, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Waco Flight Training?
Waco Flight Training trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Commercial Pilot, Flight Instructor and Instrument Instructor. Instruction is $80 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Waco Flight Training's own published rates.

Section 8Sources

Estimates use Waco Flight Training's published Piper Cherokee 180 and instructor rates (checked September 8, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Waco Flight Training. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Are you Waco Flight? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.

Send your training part

Other Texas flight schools

All Texas flight schoolsAll Waco flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.