What flight training at Bermuda Dunes Flight Training costs

Bermuda Dunes, CA · Checked October 12, 2026

Website bermudadunesflighttraining.com

Cost estimate

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

The primary trainer, cheapest tail.

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at Bermuda Dunes Flight Training

$21,485

range $18.5K – $24.5K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on Bermuda Dunes's published rates: Cessna 172P at $205/hr + $75/hr instruction, checked October 12, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$12,975
at the hours students actually take$21,485

+$8,510 on Bermuda Dunes's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$18.5K – $24.5K
Aircraft rental$14,760
Instruction$4,350
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$19,110
72 hrs in Cessna 172P @ $205/hr + 58 dual @ $75/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on Bermuda Dunes Flight Training's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Bermuda Dunes Flight Training's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

Put this calculator on your site

The rate card

What Bermuda Dunes publishes

Checked October 12, 2026
Cessna 172P (N52217, 1980)1980The primary trainer, cheapest tail.$205/hr wet
Cessna 172SP (N5181E)2002$215/hr wet
Cessna 172S (N3265A)2005G1000 with a KAP 140 autopilot; the school marks this one TAA.$245/hr wet
Cirrus SR20TAA glass single. The school states its Gen1 Cirrus with dual GI-275s meets the commercial TAA requirement.$285/hr wet
Instructionstandard $75/hr · instrument instruction $80/hr$75 – $80/hr

Airframes built 1980 to 2005. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read November 3, 2026.

Rates are wet (fuel included) and published per tail. Instruction is $75/hr, rising to $80/hr for instrument training per the school's pricing guide. The school's own worked estimates blend aircraft at a planning rate of $210/hr, which is not the price of any single airplane.

The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Bermuda Dunes does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.

Discovery flight

$250

Checked October 12, 2026

See it on their site

Discovery flight prices in California

Paying for it

Two ways to cover $21,485.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for45 open to anyone, plus 1 in California. Top awards reach $22,200.
46
Money you pay backLenders that cover $21,485Five of the six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
5 of 6

Add to my plan

Turn this into a plan.

Your $21,485 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

In the app

Track it against Bermuda Dunes's rates.

Bermuda Dunes Flight Training's rate card is in the PilotBound app. Choose Bermuda Dunes when you set up and the app prices your training at its rates, then tracks every flight you log against the projection.

Download on the App Store

What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked one is what Bermuda Dunes's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  2. Which instructor rate applies to each rating I plan to do, and does the higher tier start on day one of that rating?

    This school prices some instruction above its primary rate. Knowing when the step-up starts keeps the later ratings from surprising you.

  3. Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site

    It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.

  4. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  5. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  6. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Questions

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Bermuda Dunes Flight Training?

Bermuda Dunes Flight Training publishes $205 per hour for the Cessna 172P and $75 per hour for instruction on it, checked October 12, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $21,485, in a range of $18,500 to $24,500. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Bermuda Dunes Flight Training.

How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Bermuda Dunes Flight Training?

Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Bermuda Dunes Flight Training to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.

Is Bermuda Dunes Flight Training a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?

Bermuda Dunes Flight Training does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.

Do Bermuda Dunes Flight Training's aircraft rates include fuel?

Bermuda Dunes Flight Training publishes $205 per hour for the Cessna 172P, a wet rate, so fuel is included in the hourly figure. A wet rate is the easier one to compare, because the number you see is the number you fly on. Rates checked October 12, 2026.

What ratings can you train for at Bermuda Dunes Flight Training?

Bermuda Dunes Flight Training trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Commercial Pilot and Flight Instructor. Instruction runs $75 to $80 per hour depending on the rating and the aircraft, since advanced and type-specific instruction is priced above the standard rate. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Bermuda Dunes Flight Training's own published rates.

Sources

Estimates use Bermuda Dunes Flight Training's published Cessna 172P and instructor rates (checked October 12, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Bermuda Dunes Flight Training. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Are you Bermuda Dunes? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.

Send your training part

Plan the money before you commit.

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what scholarships exist, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Scholarships first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.