PilotBound estimate · Long Beach, CA · Checked September 10, 2026

What flight training at Aero Aviation costs

Website flyaeroaviation.com

Phone (562) 425-6774

Section 1Cost estimate

Your plan

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

Two-seat.

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at Aero Aviation

$17,895

range $15.4K$20.4K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on Aero Aviation's published rates: Cessna 152 at $135/hr + $100/hr instruction, checked September 10, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$10,975
at the hours students actually take$17,895

+$6,920 on Aero Aviation's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$15.4K$20.4K
Aircraft rental$9,720
Instruction$5,800
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$15,520
72 hrs in Cessna 152 @ $135/hr + 58 dual @ $100/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on Aero Aviation's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Aero Aviation's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

Put this calculator on your site

Section 2The rate card

What Aero Aviation publishes

checked September 10, 2026
Cessna 152 (N6111Q)1981Two-seat.$135/hr wet
Mooney M20BRetractable gear, the complex tail.$165/hr wet
Cessna 172SP (N65537)2004The standard trainer.$190/hr wet
Cessna 172S G1000 (N2235V)2007Glass, air conditioning, autopilot.$200/hr wet
Diamond DA-42 Twin StarTwin. Listed for rental; multi training is not advertised, so it is not modeled.$500/hr wet
Instructionstandard $100/hr · instrument instruction $120/hr · commercial instruction $120/hr$100 – $120/hr

Airframes built 1981 to 2007. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read September 16, 2026.

The school states all prices are wet, all aircraft are IFR rated, and all engines are factory overhauled. Block rates are offered on every aircraft but the discounted figure is not published. Advanced instruction is $120/hr against a $100/hr basic rate. A Diamond DA-42 twin is in the fleet at $500/hr, but the site does not list multi-engine training, so the multi goals stay hidden.

The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Aero Aviation does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.

Section 3Paying for it

Two ways to cover $17,895.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone, plus 1 in California. Top awards reach $22,200.
47
Money you pay backLenders that cover $17,895All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6 of 6

Section 4Add to my plan

Turn this into a plan.

Your $17,895 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

Section 5What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked one is what Aero Aviation's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  2. Which instructor rate applies to each rating I plan to do, and does the higher tier start on day one of that rating?

    This school prices some instruction above its primary rate. Knowing when the step-up starts keeps the later ratings from surprising you.

  3. Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site

    It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.

  4. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  5. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  6. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Section 6Questions

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Aero Aviation?
Aero Aviation publishes $135 per hour for the Cessna 152 and $100 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 10, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $17,895, in a range of $15,400 to $20,400. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Aero Aviation.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Aero Aviation?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Aero Aviation to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Aero Aviation a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Aero Aviation does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
Do Aero Aviation's aircraft rates include fuel?
Aero Aviation publishes $135 per hour for the Cessna 152, a wet rate, so fuel is included in the hourly figure. A wet rate is the easier one to compare, because the number you see is the number you fly on. Rates checked September 10, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Aero Aviation?
Aero Aviation trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating and Commercial Pilot. Instruction runs $100 to $120 per hour depending on the rating and the aircraft, since advanced and type-specific instruction is priced above the standard rate. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Aero Aviation's own published rates.

Section 7Sources

Estimates use Aero Aviation's published Cessna 152 and instructor rates (checked September 10, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Aero Aviation. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Are you Aero Aviation? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.

Send your training part

6 other schools fly from Long Beach International Airport.

3 of them publish at least one rate. LGB is the identifier to give when you ask.

Other California flight schools

All California flight schoolsAll Long Beach flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.