What flight training at LA Flight Academy costs
Van Nuys, CA · Checked September 28, 2026
Website laflightacademy.com
Phone (747) 277-4232
Cost estimate
Estimate cost to reach
Flying
160hp, IFR certified. Block rate $170/hr.
PilotBound estimate · Private
Examiner dataCost of your Private at LA Flight Academy
range $17.4K – $23.1K · about 6 months at 2×/week
Priced on LA Flight Academy's published rates: Cessna 172N at $180/hr + $85/hr instruction, checked September 28, 2026.
Against a minimums quote
+$7,970 on LA Flight Academy's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.
Where it goes
One-time fees ($2,375)
- Knowledge (written) test$175
- Checkride / DPE fee$800
- Medical certificate$150
- Headset$700
- Ground school / test prep$300
- Books, charts & supplies$250
Examiner records (DPE dataset).
The hourly flying is priced on LA Flight Academy's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not LA Flight Academy's prices, and several are set by third parties.
Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →
Put this calculator on your siteThe rate card
What LA Flight Academy publishes
Checked September 28, 2026Airframes built 1962 to 2007. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read October 23, 2026.
Aircraft rates are wet and come from the school's fleet page, each with a ten-hour block rate about $10 lower; a Gleim BATD simulator is $70/hr, or $60 on a block, and is not an airplane. LA Flight Academy publishes no instruction rate on its site; the school gave its instruction rates to PilotBound directly on September 28, 2026. Instruction is $85/hr for Private, Instrument and Commercial single-engine, and $95/hr for Commercial Multi, CFI, CFII and MEI.
The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. LA Flight Academy does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.
Paying for it
Two ways to cover $20,265.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for50 open to anyone, plus 1 in California. Top awards reach $22,200.
- Hiller Aviation Museum Flight Training Scholarship$15,000 · San Francisco Bay Area · Opens Feb 5, 2027
- 51
- Money you pay backLenders that cover $20,265Five of the six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 5 of 6
Add to my plan
Turn this into a plan.
Your $20,265 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.
In the app
What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked one is what LA Flight Academy's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?
The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.
Which instructor rate applies to each rating I plan to do, and does the higher tier start on day one of that rating?
This school prices some instruction above its primary rate. Knowing when the step-up starts keeps the later ratings from surprising you.
Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site
It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Questions
How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at LA Flight Academy?
LA Flight Academy publishes $180 per hour for the Cessna 172N and $85 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 28, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $20,265, in a range of $17,400 to $23,100. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from LA Flight Academy.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at LA Flight Academy?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at LA Flight Academy to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is LA Flight Academy a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
LA Flight Academy does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
Do LA Flight Academy's aircraft rates include fuel?
LA Flight Academy publishes $180 per hour for the Cessna 172N, a wet rate, so fuel is included in the hourly figure. A wet rate is the easier one to compare, because the number you see is the number you fly on. Rates checked September 28, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at LA Flight Academy?
LA Flight Academy trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Commercial Pilot, Multi-Engine (AMEL), Flight Instructor, Instrument Instructor and Multi-Engine Instructor. Instruction runs $85 to $95 per hour depending on the rating and the aircraft, since advanced and type-specific instruction is priced above the standard rate. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on LA Flight Academy's own published rates.
Sources
Estimates use LA Flight Academy's published Cessna 172N and instructor rates (checked September 28, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by LA Flight Academy. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Are you LA Flight Academy? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.
14 other schools fly from Van Nuys Airport.
9 of them publish at least one rate. VNY is the identifier to give when you ask.
- Ascent Aviation AcademyFull rate card, Piper Warrior at $145/hr and $75/hr instructionVan Nuys
- Aviators Flight AcademyFull rate card, Czech Sport Aircraft SportCruiser at $165/hr and $85/hr instructionVan Nuys
- Corsair AviationFull rate card, Cessna 162 Skycatcher at $140/hr and $110/hr instructionVan Nuys
- Essence Flight AcademyFull rate card, Piper Warrior at $269/hr and $150 to $300/hr instructionVan Nuys
- Vertical AviationFull rate card, Sling 2 at $180/hr and $100/hr instructionVan Nuys
- 30 DAY CFI Flight Training AcademyPublishes no ratesVan Nuys
- ActivePILOT Flight AcademyPublishes Piper PA-28-151 Warrior at $165/hr, no instructor rateVan Nuys
- AFI Flight TrainingPublishes no ratesVan Nuys
- American Aviation Sales & Services IncPublishes no ratesVan Nuys
- California Flight SchoolPublishes a $120/hr aircraft rate, no instructor rateVan Nuys
- Clipper AviationPublishes no ratesVan Nuys
- Flying Academy Van NuysPublishes a $64/hr instructor rate, no aircraft rateVan Nuys
- Mach 1 AviationPublishes Cirrus SR20 at $259/hr, no instructor rateVan Nuys
- US AviatorsPublishes no ratesVan Nuys
Other California flight schools.
- 30 DAY CFI Flight Training AcademyVan Nuys
- A.F.I.T. Accelerated Flight and Instrument TrainingNewport Beach
- Acampo Flying ClubAcampo
- Aces High AviationLong Beach
- ActivePILOT Flight AcademyVan Nuys
- Advantage AviationPalo Alto
- Adventure AirChino
- Adventure FlightLincoln
- Aero AviationLong Beach
All California flight schools →All Van Nuys flight schools →
Plan the money before you commit.
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what scholarships exist, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Scholarships first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.


