PilotBound estimate · Santa Ana, CA · Checked September 16, 2026

What flight training at Pacific Flight Aviation costs

Website pacificflight.com

Phone (949)359-4144

Section 1Cost estimate

Your plan

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

The primary trainer.

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at Pacific Flight Aviation

$24,515

range $21.1K$27.9K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on Pacific Flight's published rates: Piper Archer III at $235/hr + $90/hr instruction, checked September 16, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$14,655
at the hours students actually take$24,515

+$9,860 on Pacific Flight's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$21.1K$27.9K
Aircraft rental$16,920
Instruction$5,220
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$22,140
72 hrs in Piper Archer III @ $235/hr + 58 dual @ $90/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on Pacific Flight Aviation's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Pacific Flight Aviation's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

Put this calculator on your site

Section 2The rate card

What Pacific Flight publishes

checked September 16, 2026
Piper Archer IIIThe primary trainer.$235/hr fuel basis not stated
Piper Arrow III (retractable)Complex/retractable, for the commercial TAA time.$275/hr fuel basis not stated
Piper Seneca V (twin)Twin, for the multi-engine ratings.$450/hr fuel basis not stated
Cirrus SR22THigh-performance.$650/hr fuel basis not stated
Instructionstandard $90/hr · CFI candidates $100/hr · CFII candidates $100/hr · multi-engine instruction $125/hr$90 – $125/hr

Rates do not state wet or dry on the site; confirm. Special pricing on prepaid blocks of 25+ hours. Flight instruction is $90/hr, $100/hr for CFI and CFII, and $125/hr for multi-engine and MEI.

The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Pacific Flight's site does not state whether its rates include fuel. Pacific Flight does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.

Section 3Discovery flight

Section 4Paying for it

Two ways to cover $24,515.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone, plus 1 in California. Top awards reach $22,200.
47
Money you pay backLenders that cover $24,515Five of the six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
5 of 6

Section 5Add to my plan

Turn this into a plan.

Your $24,515 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

Section 6What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked ones are what Pacific Flight's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?Missing from their site

    The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.

  2. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  3. Which instructor rate applies to each rating I plan to do, and does the higher tier start on day one of that rating?

    This school prices some instruction above its primary rate. Knowing when the step-up starts keeps the later ratings from surprising you.

  4. Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site

    It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.

  5. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  6. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  7. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Section 7Questions

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Pacific Flight Aviation?
Pacific Flight Aviation publishes $235 per hour for the Piper Archer III and $90 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 16, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $24,515, in a range of $21,100 to $27,900. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Pacific Flight Aviation.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Pacific Flight Aviation?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Pacific Flight Aviation to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Pacific Flight Aviation a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Pacific Flight Aviation does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
Do Pacific Flight Aviation's aircraft rates include fuel?
Pacific Flight Aviation publishes $235 per hour for the Piper Archer III, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included. Ask before you budget: if the rate turns out to be dry, fuel adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour on top. PilotBound's estimate uses the rate exactly as published. Rates checked September 16, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Pacific Flight Aviation?
Pacific Flight Aviation trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Commercial Pilot, Multi-Engine (AMEL), Flight Instructor, Instrument Instructor and Multi-Engine Instructor. Instruction runs $90 to $125 per hour depending on the rating and the aircraft, since advanced and type-specific instruction is priced above the standard rate. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Pacific Flight Aviation's own published rates.

Section 8Sources

Estimates use Pacific Flight Aviation's published Piper Archer III and instructor rates (checked September 16, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Pacific Flight Aviation. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Are you Pacific Flight? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.

Send your fuel basisSend your training part

5 other schools fly from John Wayne Orange County International Airport.

3 of them publish at least one rate. SNA is the identifier to give when you ask.

Other California flight schools

All California flight schoolsAll Santa Ana flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.