Rates partly published · Vacaville, CA

Flight training at WINGS Flight School

No instructor rate. WINGS publishes rates for all 10 of its airplanes and nothing for instruction, so there is no total on this page.

Checked September 13, 2026 against WINGS Flight School aircraft rentals page.

Based at
Nut Tree Airport(VCB)
FAA part
Not stated on their site
Phone
1-707-449-4647
Website
wingsflightschool.com

Section 1What is published

WINGS's own figures

Checked September 13, 2026 · Source

WINGS Flight School published aircraft rates
AircraftPublished rateNotes
Cessna 150G (N3495J)1967$126/hrTwo-seat, the cheapest way to start.
Cessna 172M (N9162H, 1976)1975$171/hr
Cessna 172M (N9252H, 1975)1975$171/hr
Cessna 172M (N9904V, 1974)1974$171/hr
Cessna 172M (N724TX, 1974)1974$171/hr
Cessna 172M (N21374, 1974)1974$171/hr
Cessna 172M (N80168, 1975)1975$187/hr
Cessna 172N (N739DT, 1978)1978$191/hr
Cessna 172SP (N286SP, 1999)1999$196/hr
Cessna 172SP (N353ME, 2000)2000$203/hr

Airframes built 1967 to 2000. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read September 20, 2026.

Ten aircraft priced per tail across a wide band, all of them 172s bar the two-seat 150. Two simulators are published separately, a motion DCX-MAX at $80/hr and a CR-12 at $55/hr, and the site notes how much simulator time each of Part 61 and Part 141 allows. The rate page does not say whether fuel is included.

Section 2Why there is no total

An estimate needs an instructor rate.

A training total is hours multiplied by rates. With instruction unpriced there is nothing to multiply, and we will not fill the gap with a plausible number: every figure on this site carries a link that shows it today.

  • Instructor rateMissing from their site

    Instruction is the second biggest line on a training bill, after the airplane.

What to compare their answer against

Not WINGS's rates. The middle of what 63 California schools charge, to hold your phone quote against.

Trainer, medianWhat the airplane costsRange $95 to $269 per hour.
$159
Instruction, medianWhat the instructor costsAcross 63 schools with published rates.
$80

From the schools here that publish full rate cards, the same sample behind the Flight Training Cost Report. WINGS is not in it.

Section 3Paying for it

Two ways to pay for it.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone, plus 1 in California. Top awards reach $22,200.
47
Money you pay backLenders that fund flight trainingSix lenders, compared on the limits and rates they publish. That is what is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6

Section 4What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked ones are what WINGS's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. What do you charge per hour for flight instruction, and is ground instruction billed at the same rate?Missing from their site

    This is the number that is missing from the site. Ground is often billed separately and at a different rate.

  2. Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?Missing from their site

    Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.

  3. Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?

    The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.

  4. What does instruction cost per hour?Missing from their site

    Ten aircraft and two simulators are priced to the dollar and instruction is not priced at all.

  5. Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141, and which would apply to me?

    Your simulator page cites allowances under both, so the choice is presumably available, and it changes the minimum hours.

  6. Is there a block or member rate below the regular rate?

    The fleet page is headed "Regular Rate", which usually implies another one exists.

  7. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  8. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  9. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Called them? Send us what they said.

Send the number over and WINGS Flight School gets a full listing with an estimate, marked as sourced by phone on the date you called.

Send what they told you

Section 5Nearby schools

63 California schools publish a full rate card.

Each one has an estimate built on its own published rates. Listed alphabetically, because ordering them by price would be a ranking this page is not making.

Section 6Sources

That the school exists
WINGS Flight School aircraft rentals pageChecked September 13, 2026
The rates above
WINGS Flight School aircraft rentals pageChecked September 13, 2026

Are you WINGS Flight School? Send your rate card and this becomes a full listing with an estimate, free. Or have it removed.

This page says one thing is not stated on your site. Send us where it is published and it shows here instead.

  • What instruction costs per hourSend it

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by WINGS Flight School. School names are used only to identify the school. Rates shown are the school's own published figures with the date we checked them. This page carries no PilotBound estimate, because the school does not publish enough for one. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Other California flight schools

All California flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.