PilotBound estimate · California, MD · Checked August 31, 2026
What flight training at Ready 9 Aviation Academy costs
Website r9aa.org
Section 1Cost estimate
Your plan
Estimate cost to reach
Flying
The school's trainer: Private training and solo rental are offered in it. Published wet.
PilotBound estimate · Private
Examiner dataCost of your Private at Ready 9 Aviation Academy
range $15.5K – $20.5K · about 6 months at 2×/week
Priced on Ready 9's published rates: Cessna 140 at $169/hr + $60/hr instruction, checked August 31, 2026.
Against a minimums quote
+$6,968 on Ready 9's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.
Where it goes
One-time fees ($2,375)
- Knowledge (written) test$175
- Checkride / DPE fee$800
- Medical certificate$150
- Headset$700
- Ground school / test prep$300
- Books, charts & supplies$250
Examiner records (DPE dataset).
The hourly flying is priced on Ready 9 Aviation Academy's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Ready 9 Aviation Academy's prices, and several are set by third parties.
Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →
Put this calculator on your siteSection 2The rate card
What Ready 9 publishes
checked August 31, 2026Training runs part-time and by appointment. The C140 rate is published wet. The Cessna A185F amphibious seaplane is $589/hr with a 10-hour SES add-on course at $6,500; the operator's older Southern Maryland Seaplanes site prices the same seaplane at $650/hr, so confirm which applies. Ready 9 is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit.
The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Ready 9 does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.
Section 3Paying for it
Two ways to cover $18,023.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Maryland-only awards in the directory yet.
- 46
- Money you pay backLenders that cover $18,023All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 6 of 6
Section 4Add to my plan
Turn this into a plan.
Your $18,023 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.
Add to my planSection 5What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked one is what Ready 9's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?
The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.
Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?
Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.
Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site
It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Section 6Questions
- How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Ready 9 Aviation Academy?
- Ready 9 Aviation Academy publishes $169 per hour for the Cessna 140 and $60 per hour for instruction on it, checked August 31, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $18,023, in a range of $15,500 to $20,500. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Ready 9 Aviation Academy.
- How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Ready 9 Aviation Academy?
- Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Ready 9 Aviation Academy to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
- Is Ready 9 Aviation Academy a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
- Ready 9 Aviation Academy does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
- Do Ready 9 Aviation Academy's aircraft rates include fuel?
- Ready 9 Aviation Academy publishes $169 per hour for the Cessna 140, a wet rate, so fuel is included in the hourly figure. A wet rate is the easier one to compare, because the number you see is the number you fly on. Rates checked August 31, 2026.
- What ratings can you train for at Ready 9 Aviation Academy?
- Ready 9 Aviation Academy trains Private Pilot. Instruction is $60 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Ready 9 Aviation Academy's own published rates.
Section 7Sources
Estimates use Ready 9 Aviation Academy's published Cessna 140 and instructor rates (checked August 31, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Ready 9 Aviation Academy. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Are you Ready 9? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.
2 other schools fly from St. Mary's County Regional Airport.
All of them publish something, so you can compare before you call. 2W6 is the identifier to give when you ask.
- Piedmont Flight CenterFull rate card, Cessna 150 at $135/hr and $65/hr instructionCalifornia
- SOMD Aircraft Rentals and InstructionFull rate card, Piper PA-28-140 Cherokee at $160/hr and $60/hr instructionCalifornia
Other Maryland flight schools
- 1World Aero · Fort Meade
- A.T.C. Flight Training Center · Gaithersburg
- Advanced Aviation Group · Frederick
- Bravo Flight Training · Frederick
- Brett Aviation · Middle River
- Chesapeake Sport Pilot · Stevensville
- Claremont Airport · Elkton
- Columbia Training Centers · Fort Washington
- Davis Flying Services · Gaithersburg
Plan the money before you commit
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Free money first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.