PilotBound estimate · Casper, WY · Checked September 8, 2026

What flight training at Atlas Flight School costs

Website atlasflightschool.com

Phone 307-265-5315

Section 1Cost estimate

Your plan

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at Atlas Flight School

$17,595

range $15.1K$20.1K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on Atlas's published rates: Cessna 172N at $155/hr + $70/hr instruction, checked September 8, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$10,815
at the hours students actually take$17,595

+$6,780 on Atlas's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$15.1K$20.1K
Aircraft rental$11,160
Instruction$4,060
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$15,220
72 hrs in Cessna 172N @ $155/hr + 58 dual @ $70/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on Atlas Flight School's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Atlas Flight School's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

Put this calculator on your site

Section 2The rate card

What Atlas publishes

checked September 8, 2026
Cessna 172N (N3363E)1978$155/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172N (N1544E)1978$155/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172N (N4953G)1979$155/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172M (N20365)1972$155/hr fuel basis not stated
Piper Comanche 250 (N6824P)1960Retractable gear and constant-speed prop, so this is the complex trainer rather than a primary one. The rates panel calls it the Comanche 24.$250/hr fuel basis not stated
Piper Aztec (N4851P)1961The twin. Published on the fleet page at $450/hr with instruction at $100/hr, rather than in the animated rates panel. Instruction in this airplane $100/hr.$450/hr fuel basis not stated
Instructionstandard $70/hr · multi-engine instruction $100/hr$70 – $100/hr

Airframes built 1960 to 1979. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read September 16, 2026.

The site does not say whether rental rates include fuel, so confirm before budgeting. Instruction is $70/hr in the singles but $100/hr in the Aztec twin. A Redbird MCX simulator is $75/hr single-engine and $125/hr multi-engine, and a headset rents for $10 a flight. Neither is modeled.

The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Atlas's site does not state whether its rates include fuel. Atlas does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.

Section 3Discovery flight

$150

Checked September 14, 2026

Up to an hour of flight time.

Discovery flight prices in Wyoming

Section 4Paying for it

Two ways to cover $17,595.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone. Top awards reach $22,200.No Wyoming-only awards in the directory yet.
46
Money you pay backLenders that cover $17,595All six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
6 of 6

Section 5Add to my plan

Turn this into a plan.

Your $17,595 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

Section 6What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked ones are what Atlas's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?Missing from their site

    The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.

  2. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  3. Which instructor rate applies to each rating I plan to do, and does the higher tier start on day one of that rating?

    This school prices some instruction above its primary rate. Knowing when the step-up starts keeps the later ratings from surprising you.

  4. Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site

    It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.

  5. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  6. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  7. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Section 7Questions

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Atlas Flight School?
Atlas Flight School publishes $155 per hour for the Cessna 172N and $70 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 8, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $17,595, in a range of $15,100 to $20,100. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Atlas Flight School.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Atlas Flight School?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Atlas Flight School to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Atlas Flight School a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Atlas Flight School does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
Do Atlas Flight School's aircraft rates include fuel?
Atlas Flight School publishes $155 per hour for the Cessna 172N, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included. Ask before you budget: if the rate turns out to be dry, fuel adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour on top. PilotBound's estimate uses the rate exactly as published. Rates checked September 8, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Atlas Flight School?
Atlas Flight School trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Commercial Pilot, Multi-Engine (AMEL) and Flight Instructor. Instruction runs $70 to $100 per hour depending on the rating and the aircraft, since advanced and type-specific instruction is priced above the standard rate. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Atlas Flight School's own published rates.

Section 8Sources

Estimates use Atlas Flight School's published Cessna 172N and instructor rates (checked September 8, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Atlas Flight School. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Are you Atlas? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.

Send your fuel basisSend your training part

One other school flies from Casper-Natrona County International Airport.

It publishes at least one rate, so there is something to compare before you call. CPR is the identifier to give when you ask.

Other Wyoming flight schools

All Wyoming flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.