PilotBound estimate · Santa Ana, CA · Checked September 8, 2026

What flight training at Orange County Flight Center costs

Website ocfc.com

Phone (949)756-1300

Section 1Cost estimate

Your plan

Estimate cost to reach

Flying

PilotBound estimate · Private

Examiner data

Cost of your Private at Orange County Flight Center

$20,265

range $17.4K$23.1K · about 6 months at 2×/week

Priced on OCFC's published rates: Cessna 172N at $180/hr + $85/hr instruction, checked September 8, 2026.

Against a minimums quote

at the FAA legal minimums$12,295
at the hours students actually take$20,265

+$7,970 on OCFC's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.

Where it goes

$17.4K$23.1K
Aircraft rental$12,960
Instruction$4,930
One-time costs$2,375
Aircraft + instruction$17,890
72 hrs in Cessna 172N @ $180/hr + 58 dual @ $85/hr

One-time fees ($2,375)

  • Knowledge (written) test$175
  • Checkride / DPE fee$800
  • Medical certificate$150
  • Headset$700
  • Ground school / test prep$300
  • Books, charts & supplies$250
Hours at a steady pace72 hrs

Examiner records (DPE dataset).

The hourly flying is priced on Orange County Flight Center's published rates. About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Orange County Flight Center's prices, and several are set by third parties.

Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →

Put this calculator on your site

Section 2The rate card

What OCFC publishes

checked September 8, 2026
Cessna 172N (N739HS, 1978)1978$180/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172N (N734XX, 1977)1977$180/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172N (N733HA, 1977)1976$180/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172 (N57BM, 1973)1973$180/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172C (N1307Y, 1961)1961$180/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172 (N53614, 2003)2003$210/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172 (N363SP, 1998)2001$210/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172S (N952JA, 2005)2007Garmin G1000 glass.$210/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172S (N227WC, 2005)2005Garmin G1000 glass.$220/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172 (N1129K, 2006)2006Garmin G1000 glass.$225/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172S (N916RR, 2021)2021Newest airplanes in the fleet, G1000 with traffic and terrain.$250/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 172S (N916UT, 2021)2021Newest airplanes in the fleet, G1000 with traffic and terrain.$250/hr fuel basis not stated
Cessna 310P (N586JR, 1969)1969Twin, for the multi-engine rating.$385/hr fuel basis not stated
Instructionstandard $85/hr · instrument instruction $90/hr · commercial instruction $95/hr · CFI candidates $90/hr · CFII candidates $90/hr · multi-engine instruction $125/hr$85 – $125/hr

Airframes built 1961 to 2021. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read September 16, 2026.

Instruction is priced per rating rather than flat, so the Private, Instrument, Commercial, CFI and multi-engine legs each cost a different hourly rate. A block programme credits 10% on deposits of $1,500 or more, and a course-completion credit returns 5% after 40 hours; neither is modeled here.

The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. OCFC's site does not state whether its rates include fuel. OCFC trains under both parts, and the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.

Section 3Paying for it

Two ways to cover $20,265.

Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.

Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone, plus 1 in California. Top awards reach $22,200.
47
Money you pay backLenders that cover $20,265Five of the six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
5 of 6

Section 4Add to my plan

Turn this into a plan.

Your $20,265 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.

Add to my plan

Section 5What to ask

What to ask when you call

The marked one is what OCFC's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.

  1. Do the published aircraft rates include fuel, or is fuel billed separately?Missing from their site

    The site does not say, and it is the difference between two rates that look identical and are not.

  2. What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?

    The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.

  3. Which instructor rate applies to each rating I plan to do, and does the higher tier start on day one of that rating?

    This school prices some instruction above its primary rate. Knowing when the step-up starts keeps the later ratings from surprising you.

  4. Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?

    Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.

  5. What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?

    The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.

  6. How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?

    Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.

Section 6Questions

How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Orange County Flight Center?
Orange County Flight Center publishes $180 per hour for the Cessna 172N and $85 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 8, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $20,265, in a range of $17,400 to $23,100. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Orange County Flight Center.
How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Orange County Flight Center?
Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Orange County Flight Center to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
Is Orange County Flight Center a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
Orange County Flight Center trains under both Part 61 and Part 141, so you can pick the structured FAA-approved course or the flexible path. Part 141 is the one that matters for VA benefits and for the lower paper minimum on the private certificate; Part 61 is the one that bends around a full-time job.
Do Orange County Flight Center's aircraft rates include fuel?
Orange County Flight Center publishes $180 per hour for the Cessna 172N, a rate that does not say whether fuel is included. Ask before you budget: if the rate turns out to be dry, fuel adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour on top. PilotBound's estimate uses the rate exactly as published. Rates checked September 8, 2026.
What ratings can you train for at Orange County Flight Center?
Orange County Flight Center trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating, Commercial Pilot, Multi-Engine (AMEL), Flight Instructor and Instrument Instructor. Instruction runs $85 to $125 per hour depending on the rating and the aircraft, since advanced and type-specific instruction is priced above the standard rate. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Orange County Flight Center's own published rates.

Section 7Sources

Estimates use Orange County Flight Center's published Cessna 172N and instructor rates (checked September 8, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.

PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Orange County Flight Center. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.

Are you OCFC? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.

Send your fuel basis

5 other schools fly from John Wayne Orange County International Airport.

3 of them publish at least one rate. SNA is the identifier to give when you ask.

Other California flight schools

All California flight schoolsAll Santa Ana flight schools

Plan the money before you commit

A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.

What each rating costs

Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.

Free money first

Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.

If you borrow

Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.