PilotBound estimate · Palo Alto, CA · Checked September 12, 2026
What flight training at Stanford Flying Club costs
Website flystanford.com
Phone 650-858-2200
Section 1Cost estimate
Your plan
Estimate cost to reach
Flying
Two-seat.
Shown at Stanford Flying Club's published dry rate. Fuel is billed separately and is not included in this estimate.
PilotBound estimate · Private
Examiner dataCost of your Private at Stanford Flying Club
range $18.3K – $24.3K · about 6 months at 2×/week
Priced on Stanford Flying Club's published rates: Cessna 162 Skycatcher at $174/hr dry + $110/hr instruction, checked September 12, 2026.
Against a minimums quote
+$8,428 on Stanford Flying Club's own rates. Quotes usually price the 40-hour minimum; almost nobody finishes there.
Where it goes
One-time fees ($2,375)
- Knowledge (written) test$175
- Checkride / DPE fee$800
- Medical certificate$150
- Headset$700
- Ground school / test prep$300
- Books, charts & supplies$250
Examiner records (DPE dataset).
The hourly flying is priced on Stanford Flying Club's published rates (dry; fuel billed separately). About $2,375 of this is one-time fees (written test, examiner/DPE checkride, medical, gear), typical national estimates, not Stanford Flying Club's prices, and several are set by third parties.
Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Full methodology and sources →
Put this calculator on your siteSection 2The rate card
What Stanford Flying Club publishes
checked September 12, 2026Airframes built 2008 to 2025. Years of manufacture from the FAA aircraft registry, read September 16, 2026.
Stanford Flying Club publishes DRY rates: the club states fuel and small taxes are not included, so budget fuel on top of every figure here. It is a membership club, and instructors are independent contractors approved to teach at the club at a club-published rate.
The examiner's checkride fee is not on this card: the examiner sets it, not the school. The estimate above includes PilotBound's own figure for it. Stanford Flying Club does not state whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so the estimate above is built on Part 61 hours.
Section 3Paying for it
Two ways to cover $21,283.
Win what you can first, then borrow only what is left. Neither figure assumes anything about you: one is what our scholarship directory holds, the other is what the lenders publish.
- Money you keepScholarships you could apply for46 open to anyone, plus 1 in California. Top awards reach $22,200.
- Hiller Aviation Museum Flight Training Scholarship$15,000 · San Francisco Bay Area · Opens Feb 5, 2027
- 47
- Money you pay backLenders that cover $21,283Five of the six lenders in our comparison lend this much. That is whether a loan this size is on offer, not whether you would be approved.
- 5 of 6
Section 4Add to my plan
Turn this into a plan.
Your $21,283 is the starting line. Turn it into a route to your checkride, every step in order with this cost built in.
Add to my planSection 5What to ask
What to ask when you call
The marked one is what Stanford Flying Club's site never answers. The rest are what turns an hourly rate into a real bill.
Your published rates are dry. Roughly what does fuel add per hour on the trainer?
The published figures leave fuel out, so they understate the real hourly cost until you add it.
What gets billed on top of the hourly rates, and roughly how much per hour does it add?
The site notes extras beyond the hourly figures. Ask for the all-in number per hour, not the base rate.
Does the instructor rate change for the Instrument, Commercial, or CFI, or is it flat across everything?
Plenty of schools charge more for advanced instruction. A flat rate quoted for the Private can climb later.
Do you train under Part 61 or Part 141?Missing from their site
It changes the minimum hours, and for some students it changes financing eligibility.
Do you offer block rates or prepay discounts, and what is the refund policy if I stop partway?
Block discounts are common and rarely published. The refund terms matter more than the discount.
What do you charge for the written test, the checkride, and the examiner's fee?
The DPE fee alone runs $800 to $1,200 in most of the country and is almost never in a quoted hourly rate.
How many trainers and how many full-time instructors do you have right now?
Availability decides your pace, and pace decides your total more than the hourly rate does.
Section 6Questions
- How much does it cost to get a private pilot license at Stanford Flying Club?
- Stanford Flying Club publishes $174 per hour for the Cessna 162 Skycatcher and $110 per hour for instruction on it, checked September 12, 2026. Applied to those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $21,283, in a range of $18,300 to $24,300. That covers roughly 72 hours of flying and instruction plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out, including the written test, the examiner's checkride fee, a medical, and study materials. It is a PilotBound estimate built on the school's published rates, not a quote from Stanford Flying Club.
- How long does it take to get a private pilot license at Stanford Flying Club?
- Flying twice a week, PilotBound estimates about 6 months at Stanford Flying Club to reach the private pilot checkride, at roughly 72 hours. Pace is the single biggest variable: flying once a week typically stretches the timeline and raises the total, because time between lessons gets spent re-learning. Weather, aircraft availability, and instructor turnover all push the same direction.
- Is Stanford Flying Club a Part 61 or Part 141 flight school?
- Stanford Flying Club does not state on its own website whether it trains under Part 61 or Part 141, so we do not list one. It is worth asking directly before you enroll: Part 141 follows an FAA-approved syllabus and is generally what VA benefits require, while Part 61 is more flexible on scheduling.
- Do Stanford Flying Club's aircraft rates include fuel?
- Stanford Flying Club publishes $174 per hour for the Cessna 162 Skycatcher, a dry rate, so fuel is billed separately on top. Fuel typically adds roughly $30 to $60 per hour, so compare a dry rate against a wet one carefully. PilotBound's estimate uses the published dry rate exactly as listed and does not add a guessed fuel figure. Rates checked September 12, 2026.
- What ratings can you train for at Stanford Flying Club?
- Stanford Flying Club trains Private Pilot, Instrument Rating and Commercial Pilot. Instruction is $110 per hour across the ratings it teaches. PilotBound's estimator on this page prices any of these paths on Stanford Flying Club's own published rates.
Section 7Sources
Estimates use Stanford Flying Club's published Cessna 162 Skycatcher and instructor rates (checked September 12, 2026), shown in USD for planning only. Real cost varies by student, weather, and pace. A range, not a quote.
PilotBound is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Stanford Flying Club. School names are used only to identify the school. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Are you Stanford Flying Club? Every figure here is yours, shown with its source and date.
3 other schools fly from Palo Alto Airport.
2 of them publish at least one rate. PAO is the identifier to give when you ask.
- Advantage AviationPublishes a $155/hr aircraft rate, no instructor ratePalo Alto
- Sundance Flying Club, IncPublishes no ratesPalo Alto
- West Valley Flying ClubPublishes Cessna C182S Skylane at $255/hr, no instructor ratePalo Alto & San Carlos
Other California flight schools
- 30 DAY CFI Flight Training Academy · Van Nuys
- A.F.I.T. Accelerated Flight and Instrument Training · Newport Beach
- Above All Aviation · Santa Barbara
- Acampo Flying Club · Acampo
- Aces High Aviation · Long Beach
- ActivePILOT Flight Academy · Van Nuys
- Advantage Aviation · Palo Alto
- Adventure Air · Chino
- Adventure Flight · Lincoln
Plan the money before you commit
A program price only makes sense next to what each rating costs on its own, what free money exists, and what borrowing actually looks like.
What each rating costs
Honest per-rating ranges, with the fees most quotes leave out.
Free money first
Verified flight training scholarships. Every scholarship dollar is a dollar you never finance.
If you borrow
Compare lenders and see the real monthly payment before you sign.