What flight training costs at Gainesville flight schools
3 schools train out of Gainesville. One publishes a full rate card, shown with its source and date next to a PilotBound estimate. The other 2 are listed with what they do publish.
One field: Lee Gilmer Memorial Airport (GVL). Updated September 16, 2026 · All Georgia flight schools
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
SkyWings Aviation
Part 61Gainesville, GA·skywingsaviation.net
$165/hr aircraft (wet)·$55/hr instructor
Checked September 16, 2026·Source
PilotBound estimate, Private
$17,445
range $15K to $19.9K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planSkyWings cost breakdown →- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
Lanier Flight Center
Part 61 & 141Gainesville, GA·GVL·lanierflightcenter.com
No PilotBound estimate
Lanier does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
What to ask LanierNorth Georgia Aviation
Part not statedGainesville, GA·GVL·aviationnga.com
No PilotBound estimate
North Georgia does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
What to ask North Georgia
Estimates use the same method as every Georgia school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy
Flight school costs in Gainesville, in numbers
Computed from the 1 Gainesville school that publishes both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card below uses. The 2 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.
- PilotBound Private estimate at the one school with published rates
- $17,445
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $165/hr
- Published instruction, per hour
- $55 to $70
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
- 1 of 3
Lowest published trainer rates in Gainesville
Part 141 flight schools in Gainesville
Airports with Gainesville flight schools
Lee Gilmer Memorial Airport GVL
Flight schools in other Georgia cities.
Common questions about Gainesville flight schools
How much does flight school cost in Gainesville?
SkyWings Aviation in Gainesville is the one Gainesville school here with a full published rate card: $165 per hour for its Cessna 150M and $55 per hour for instruction, checked September 16, 2026. On those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $17,445. That is a PilotBound estimate, not a quote from the school.
How current are these Gainesville flight school rates?
Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check in Gainesville is September 16, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 2 more schools in Gainesville are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.
Which Gainesville airports have flight schools?
One field carries the listed schools: Lee Gilmer Memorial Airport (GVL) with 3. A school that does not state its field on the pages we read is counted in Gainesville without one.
