Flight academy costs in Iowa
Each academy's published program cost, from its own pages. An academy is full-time and integrated, the fastest route to the certificates, but it does not lower your 1,500-hour airline minimum.
2 academies listed · Updated October 24, 2026 · Rather train hourly? See Iowa flight schools
Vertical Vision Flight Academy
Part not statedDes Moines, IA
Des Moines (DSM)
Published prices
- Career Track Pilot Program (zero to CFI)
- $87,000
From Vertical Vision Flight Academy's own pages·Source
Published program price
From$87K
Published as an average. Your real cost rises if you fly more than the average hours.
Add to planVertical Vision cost breakdown →US Flight Co
Part not statedDes Moines, IA
Des Moines (DSM)
Published prices
- Fast Track Airline Pilot Program (zero to MEI)
- $94,995
From US Flight Co's own pages·Source
Published program price
From$95K
The academy does not publish how hours beyond the estimate are billed. Confirm before enrolling.
Add to planUS Flight Co cost breakdown →
Weighing an academy against Part 61, Part 141, or a degree? Every published price is also ranked cheapest first, academy by academy.
Compare the pathsFigures are each academy's own published program prices, dated. They are not quotes, and an academy does not lower the 1,500-hour airline minimum. PilotBound is not affiliated with the academies. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Flight academy costs in Iowa, in numbers
Each figure is the academy's own published starting price for its zero-experience program; PilotBound does not estimate an academy package.
- Median published starting price across the 2 that publish one
- $91K
- Published starting prices, the academy's own figure
- $87K to $95K
- Academies publishing a program price
- 2 of 2
- With campuses in other states too
- 0
Lowest published academy prices in Iowa
Academies based in Iowa
Common questions about Iowa flight academies
How much does an accelerated flight academy cost in Iowa?
The 2 Iowa academies here that publish a flat program price run from $87,000 to $94,995, each figure from the academy's own pricing page, checked October 24, 2026. The packages differ in ratings covered, included hours, and overage policy, so the sticker is where the comparison starts, not where it ends.
Does an accelerated academy in Iowa get you to the airlines faster?
It compresses the training itself, but it does not lower the 1,500-hour ATP minimum. Only a qualifying aviation degree does that, under 14 CFR 61.160, which lowers the restricted-ATP minimum to 1,000 hours for a bachelor's or 1,250 for an associate's. Most academy graduates instruct to build the remaining hours, often at the academy that trained them.
Are these Iowa academy prices current?
Each figure is the academy's own published program price with a link to the source and the date we read it, most recently October 24, 2026 for Iowa. Prices are re-checked on a monthly cycle, and an academy can correct or remove its listing anytime. A published sticker is not a personalized quote; confirm the current price with the academy before you budget.
