Published prices, sourced · Updated September 24, 2026
Flight academy costs in California
Each academy's published program cost, from its own pages. 8 of the 12 publish a figure; the rest are listed with their program and no price. An academy is full-time and integrated, the fastest route to the certificates, but it does not lower your 1,500-hour airline minimum. These are published prices, not quotes.
Rather train hourly and local? See California flight schools
Advanced International Aviation Academy
Part 61 & 141Sacramento, CA
Published prices
- Private Pilot Course (Cessna 150)
- $13,849
- Private Pilot Course (Cessna 172)
- $14,682
- Instrument Rating Course (Cessna 150 and ALSIM)
- $13,672
- Instrument Rating Course (Cessna 172 and ALSIM)
- $14,277
- Commercial Pilot Course (Cessna 150, Piper Arrow and ALSIM)
- $36,206
- Commercial Pilot Course (Cessna 172, Piper Arrow and ALSIM)
- $39,006
- Multi-Engine Pilot Course
- $9,855
From Advanced International Aviation Academy's own pages·Source
Published program price
From$13.8K
Assumes the program's planned hours. Most students fly over the minimums, and the extra flight time is billed separately.
Add to planAIAA cost breakdown →Orange County Flight Center
Part 141California locations
Santa Ana
Published prices
- Accelerated Commercial Airline Pilot Training (from zero time)
- $55,000
From Orange County Flight Center's own pages·Source
Published program price
From$55K
The academy does not publish how hours beyond the estimate are billed. Confirm before enrolling.
Add to planOCFC cost breakdown →Angel City Flyers
Part 61Long Beach, CA· Long Beach, CA at Long Beach Airport
Long Beach (LGB)
Published prices
- Ab Initio to Commercial (from zero time)
- $75,000
From Angel City Flyers's own pages·Source
Published program price
From$75K
Guaranteed regardless of the hours you fly.
Add to planAngel City cost breakdown →California Flight Academy
Part 61 & 141El Cajon, CA· El Cajon, CA at Gillespie Field
El Cajon (SEE)
Published prices
- FAA Commercial Program (Private through Commercial, from zero)
- $75,550
From California Flight Academy's own pages·Source
Published program price
From$75.6K
Assumes the program's planned hours. Most students fly over the minimums, and the extra flight time is billed separately.
Add to planCFA cost breakdown →American Flight Schools
Part not statedCalifornia locations
Livermore (LVK) · San Jose (RHV)
Published prices
- Flight Level 1
- $79,900
- Flight Level 2 (adds multi-engine Commercial)
- $89,900
- Flight Level 3 (adds CFII)
- $92,900
- Flight Level 4 (adds MEI)
- $99,900
From American Flight Schools's own pages·Source
Published program price
From$79.9K
Assumes the program's planned hours. Most students fly over the minimums, and the extra flight time is billed separately.
Add to planAmerican Flight Schools cost breakdown →Essence Flight School
Part not statedVan Nuys, CA
Van Nuys (VNY)
Published prices
- Airline Pilot Program (from zero time)
- $89,000
From Essence Flight School's own pages·Source
Published program price
From$89K
Guaranteed regardless of the hours you fly.
Add to planEssence cost breakdown →ATP Flight School
Part 141California locations· 87 training centers nationwide
Camarillo (CMA) · Carlsbad (CRQ) · Livermore (LVK) · Long Beach (LGB) · La Verne (POC) · Hayward (HWD) · Riverside (RAL) · Sacramento (SAC) · San Diego (MYF)
Published prices
- Airline Career Pilot Program (from zero time)
- $123,995
- Airline Career Pilot Program (credit for solo)
- $100,995
- Airline Career Pilot Program (with private certificate)
- $90,995
From ATP Flight School's own pages·Source
Published program price
From$91K
Assumes the program's planned hours. Most students fly over the minimums, and the extra flight time is billed separately.
Add to planATP cost breakdown →Sling Pilot Academy
Part not statedTorrance, CA· Four California campuses across the LA area and San Diego
Torrance (TOA) · Long Beach (LGB) · Santa Monica (SMO) · San Diego (El Cajon / Gillespie) (SEE)
Published prices
- Professional Pilot Course (from zero time)
- $105,995
From Sling Pilot Academy's own pages·Source
Published program price
From$106K
Assumes the program's planned hours. Most students fly over the minimums, and the extra flight time is billed separately.
Add to planSling cost breakdown →Academy of Aviation
Part 141California locations· Nine campuses across five states (including the SunState brand)
Long Beach (LGB) · San Diego (Gillespie) (SEE)
Published programs
- Career Pilot Program (from zero time)
- Not published
From Academy of Aviation's own pages·Source
Published program price
Not published
AOA publishes this program and not a price for its program. The page below has the questions to ask for it.
What to ask AOA
Weighing an academy against Part 61, Part 141, or a degree? Every published price is also ranked cheapest first, academy by academy.
Compare the pathsFigures are each academy's own published program prices, dated. They are not quotes, and an academy does not lower the 1,500-hour airline minimum. PilotBound is not affiliated with the academies. Disclaimer & removal policy.
Flight academy costs in California, in numbers
Each figure is the academy's own published starting price for its zero-experience program; PilotBound does not estimate an academy package. The 4 that quote per student are counted but carry no figure.
- $77.7K
- Median published starting price across the 8 that publish one
- $13.8K to $106K
- Published starting prices, the academy's own figure
- 8 of 12
- Academies publishing a program price
- 5
- With campuses in other states too
Lowest published academy prices in California
- Advanced International Aviation Academy · from $13.8K, Sacramento
- Orange County Flight Center · from $55K, 2 states
- Angel City Flyers · from $75K, Long Beach
- California Flight Academy · from $75.6K, El Cajon
- American Flight Schools · from $79.9K, 2 states
California campuses of multi-state academies
- Academy of Aviation · 5 states
- American Flight Schools · 2 states
- ATP Flight School · 34 states
- Coast Flight Training · 2 states
- Orange County Flight Center · 2 states
Academies based in California
- Advanced International Aviation Academy · Sacramento
- Angel City Flyers · Long Beach
- California Flight Academy · El Cajon
- Essence Flight School · Van Nuys
- IASCO Flight Training · Redding
- Sling Pilot Academy · Torrance
- Universal Air Academy · El Monte
Common questions about California flight academies
- How much does an accelerated flight academy cost in California?
- The 8 California academies here that publish a flat program price run from $13,849 to $105,995, each figure from the academy's own pricing page, checked September 24, 2026. The packages differ in ratings covered, included hours, and overage policy, so the sticker is where the comparison starts, not where it ends.
- Does an accelerated academy in California get you to the airlines faster?
- It compresses the training itself, but it does not lower the 1,500-hour ATP minimum. Only a qualifying aviation degree does that, under 14 CFR 61.160, which lowers the restricted-ATP minimum to 1,000 hours for a bachelor's or 1,250 for an associate's. Most academy graduates instruct to build the remaining hours, often at the academy that trained them.
- Are these California academy prices current?
- Each figure is the academy's own published program price with a link to the source and the date we read it, most recently September 24, 2026 for California. Prices are re-checked on a monthly cycle, and an academy can correct or remove its listing anytime. A published sticker is not a personalized quote; confirm the current price with the academy before you budget.