What flight training costs at Gwinnett County Briscoe Field (LZU)
4 schools train at Gwinnett County Briscoe Field, Lawrenceville. One publishes a full rate card, shown with its source and date next to a PilotBound estimate. The other 3 are listed with what they do publish.
Updated October 8, 2026 · All Georgia flight schools
Totals to reach your Private goal at this pace. Estimates use PilotBound's own completion-hours model, examiner-completion data where it exists and FAA minimums where it does not, applied to each school's published rates. They are PilotBound estimates, not the school's quote, and will differ from a school's own figures. How we estimate.
Advanced Aviation
Part not statedLawrenceville, GA·advancedaviation.com
$173/hr aircraft (fuel basis not stated)·$70/hr instructor
Checked October 8, 2026·Source
Block discounts: $6/hr off the 172 and $5/hr off the Cherokee with 10 hours paid in advance. Instruction is $70/hr per the school's PPL cost packet. Multi-engine training is offered but no twin or twin rate is published.
PilotBound estimate, Private
$18,891
range $16.2K to $21.5K
~72 hrs on their published rates, plus one-time fees.
Add to my planAdvanced cost breakdown →- Below: schools without a full published rate card. They cannot be priced, so they sit at the end of a cost sort.
A.I.R. Flight Academy
Part not statedLawrenceville, GA·LZU·airflightacademy.com
No PilotBound estimate
A.I.R. does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
What to ask A.I.R.Flight School of Gwinnett
Part 141Lawrenceville, GA·LZU·theflightschool.com
No PilotBound estimate
Gwinnett does not publish an aircraft rate and an instructor rate
What to ask GwinnettMagnolia Aviation
Part not statedLawrenceville, GA·LZU·magnoliaaviation.com
$185/hr aircraft (dry, fuel billed separately)·instructor rate not published
Checked September 13, 2026·Source
The Van's RV-12iS fleet is $185/hr, marked 'rates do not include consumables', and the AATD simulator is $100/hr. Instruction is sold only as packages (CFI & CFII Academy $13,699, CFI-only $10,399, CFII add-on $4,299); no hourly CFI rate exists.
Estimates use the same method as every Georgia school page: PilotBound's own completion-hours model times each school's published rates, plus the one-time fees most quotes leave out. They are ours, not the schools' quotes, and we are not affiliated with the schools. How these estimates work·Disclaimer & removal policy
Flight school costs at Gwinnett County Briscoe Field, in numbers
Computed from the 1 Gwinnett County Briscoe Field school that publishes both an aircraft and an instructor rate, on the same method every card above uses. The 3 listings without a full rate card are left out of every figure.
- PilotBound Private estimate at the one school with published rates
- $18,891
- Published trainer rental, per hour
- $173/hr
- Published instruction, per hour
- $70/hr
- Schools publishing a full rate card (aircraft and instructor)
- 1 of 4
Lowest published trainer rates at Gwinnett County Briscoe Field
Part 141 flight schools at Gwinnett County Briscoe Field
Other Georgia airports with flight schools.
Flight schools in Georgia cities.
Common questions about flight schools at LZU
How much does flight school cost at Gwinnett County Briscoe Field?
Advanced Aviation in Lawrenceville is the one Gwinnett County Briscoe Field school here with a full published rate card: $173 per hour for its Piper Cherokee 140 and $70 per hour for instruction, checked October 8, 2026. On those published rates, PilotBound estimates a private pilot certificate at about $18,891. That is a PilotBound estimate, not a quote from the school.
How current are these Gwinnett County Briscoe Field flight school rates?
Every rate here is the school's own published figure, linked to its source and dated; the newest check at Gwinnett County Briscoe Field is October 8, 2026, and each card and school page shows the exact date its rates were read. The directory is re-checked on a monthly cycle, and 3 more schools at Gwinnett County Briscoe Field are listed without an estimate because they do not publish a full rate card. A school can correct or remove its listing anytime.
